Isaac Is Here :-)

19 Jun

Well here we are, June 19th and Isaac is 5 days old :-). He was born on June 14th, 2012 at 1:11pm at All About Babies in Argyle, Texas. He weighed 7 pounds 7 ounces and was 19 inches long!

Even before Kristin was pregnant, she always wanted to do natural childbirth. This decision was totally hers in the beginning and honestly I did have some hesitations at first. But after meeting with our absolutely incredible midwife Sherry Oldfield I was on board and excited in a no time at all. Well, Kristin went through with her plan of natural childbirth and the 26 hours of labor was at the same time the most trying and hardest thing I’ve ever done and the most rewarding, fulfilling and life altering thing at the same time.

In my next post, I’m going to go in depth as to what I went through during this childbirth. I see now that husbands have a very unique perspective in all of this and I feel like this could really help other men who decide to go the route of natural childbirth as well. But that post is for a bit later. This post is all about Isaac :-). Here he is!

Is he pretty much the cutest thing ever? The answer is yes. Yes he is :-). I always wondered how much being a photographer would help as a parent and I have to say it has helped a lot. The age of iphones and easily accessible cameras mean that every parent now has the ability to take tons of pictures and share them with the world. But being a full time photographer with access to lighting, fast lenses with shallow depth of field, the ability to shoot in low light and a house set up with daylight lightbulbs in every room for great color certainly has its advantages :-). This little guy had better get used to having cameras around because he will have a LOT of pictures 🙂

It’s exciting and surreal to think that incredible things like iPads and iPhones were invented before Isaac was born. I mean, think about it. When Isaac is old enough to think about things like this, he won’t be impressed with iPads. They will be old school. Some old contraption that his Dad used to use. He’ll have so many pictures and videos of himself that he won’t know what to do with them. He’ll probably have his own Facebook profile pretty soon as well. And he will live his entire life with every single moment documented and saved to look back on later. Isn’t that crazy to think about? I mean, my parents took a lot of pictures and home videos but I don’t really even know where they are. They are on VHS tape I think and likely at my moms somewhere. When he’s older, they will be readily available to him likely on multiple websites at multiple locations and in multiple formats.

Ok, I digress…here are some more pictures 🙂

Kristin holding Isaac right after getting home

Isaac’s first bath and we’re pretty sure his first smile too 🙂

 

Isaac being held by his Great Grandpa Dean

 

Sleeping on his little arm 🙂

 

with Daddy

 

That’s all for now. Isaac just pee’d and pooped in his diaper and it sort of exploded into his pj’s. So I have some work to do at the changing table :-).

 

Leave a Reply

